# Universities <u>Committee</u>

# REPORT

## Canadian Nuclear Society

To:CNS CouncilFrom:Bill Garland <garlandw@mcmaster.ca>Subject:Update on the Universities CommitteeDate:April 25, 1996

file # 1600

## Preamble

The Universities Committee was formed in the fall of 1995 with the mandate to assist in the coordination the activities of Canadian universities with nuclear programs in keeping with the CNS objective of acting as a forum for the exchange of information relating to nuclear technology among specialists and members of national and international scientific and learned societies. As the interim chair, I contacted the following university professors by email and telephone to explore the areas and level of interest. People contacted included:

Hugues Bonin, Royal Military College	Greg Evans, U of Toronto
Esam Hussein, U of New Brunswick	Henry Caplan, U of Saskatchewan
Derick Lister, U of New Brunswick	David Chettle, McMaster U
Robin Chaplin, U of New Brunswick	Terry Rogers, Carlton U
Guy Marleau, Ecolé Polytechnique	Daniel Rozon, Ecolé Polytechnique

Aslam Lone was cc'd on email to ensure that the Education Committee was kept in the loop. Glen Harvel of the Education Committee was contacted to ensure that the roles and mandate of the respective committees were complementary. Henry Caplin will not be active on the committee but wished to be kept on the cc list. All agreed that the committee mandate was appropriate. Appreciation was expressed for the travel support offered by the Society.

The distribution list for committee correspondence is to be kept broad and email is to be used whenever possible.

### Minutes of March 15, 1996 Meeting

The committee met formally for the first time at the annual CNS Student Conference held at the University of Ottawa, March 15-16, 1996. In attendance were Greg Evans, Hugues Bonin, Brent Lewis, Terry Rogers, Mohamed Lamari, Jerry Cuttler and Bill Garland. Meeting highlights follow.

CNS Council Page 2 April 25, 1996

#### **Committee composition**

Garland is the committee chair (unanimous except for one dissension). The University of Laval would be invited to participate in the committee. Peter Frise replaces Terry Rogers on the committee. Jean Koclas will be the contact for Ecolé Polytechnique.

#### **Meeting Schedule**

The committee will attempt to meet at the annual student conference and at the CNS annual conference when it is held at a cental location. Otherwise, email will be the preferred method of communication.

#### **Student Conference**

Bonin would remain the coordinator of the Student Conference, reporting to the Council through this committee. The 1997 conference would likely be at UNB and at Trent or RMC for 1998. We agree to discuss this further at the CNS conference in June in spite of the fact that not too many professors planned to attend because of the cost.

#### **Sharing of Course Material**

Course outlines and WWW hot links from the respective universities are to be submitted to the committee chair by mid-May. These will be posted this summer on the CNS web page hosted by McMaster University. Copies of "Bluebells and Nuclear Energy" by Albert B. Reynolds as supplied by Cuttler were distributed. This is an excellent introductory text that could be used in undergraduate teaching. There was no consensus on the sharing of course material beyond course outlines even though the AECL - Thailand initiative would be a good vehicle to facilitate course sharing.

#### WWW Page

In addition to the posting of course outlines, the web page and CNS list server should be used to post job notices. The need for sharing people and jobs within the university committee was expressed.

#### **Next Meeting**

The next meeting will be at the June CNS Conference.

Distribution

George Bereznai <fnegbr@eng.chula.ac.th> Hugues Bonin <bonin\_hwj@rmc.ca> Henry Caplan <caplan@scatter.usask.ca> Robin Chaplin <rchaplin@unb.ca> David Chettle <chettle@McMaster.CA> Jerry Cuttler <cuttlerJ@candu.aecl.ca> Greg Evans <evans@ecf.utoronto.ca> Peter Frise <pfrise@ccs.carlton.ca Esam Hussein <aa46@unb.ca> Jean Koclas < koclas@ganmac1.enern.polymtl.ca> CNS Council Page 3 April 25, 1996

Mohamed Lamari Brent Lewis <lewis\_b@rmc.ca> Derick Lister <dlister@unb.ca> Aslam Lone <lonea@crl.aecl.ca> Guy Marleau <marleau@ganhp2.enern.polymtl.ca> William Prestwich <prestwic@mcmail.cis.mcmaster.ca> Terry Rogers Daniel Rozon <rozon@ganhp1.enern.polymtl.ca>

- end of document -